iVote Announces Multiple Statewide Campaigns to Push for Automatic Voter Registration

Chicago, IL – iVote, a national movement to expand access to voting, announced today that it is actively seeking to create campaigns to secure automatic voter registration in multiple states across the country.  

“We should be looking for ways to make it easier to vote and increase participation, not more burdensome to vote and suppress participation," said Ellen Kurz, iVote’s founder and president. "Automatic voter registration will be a monumental step in guaranteeing more voters have their voices heard on Election Day."

Oregon recently adopted legislation that will automatically register any eligible Oregonian with a driver's license to vote in the next election and receive a mail-in ballot. Over 300,000 Oregonians are expected to be added to the voter rolls under the new automatic registration provision. Momentum for automatic registration is growing nationwide, with legislation proposed in states including California, Illinois, New Jersey, and Ohio. A bill requiring automatic registration nationally was introduced in the U.S. House of Representatives in June.  

iVote will explore efforts in states where legislation has been proposed and will also look at the viability of automatic registration efforts in swing states including Colorado, Ohio, Iowa, Nevada, and New Mexico.

Initially, public education campaigns will leverage opinion research, paid media, and grassroots organizing components to provide residents of these states with more information on the benefits of automatic registration.

“We can’t simply defend against the latest effort to suppress voter participation,” added iVote founding board member, Jeremy Bird. "We must go on offense to expand access to voting because the best defense is a good offense."   

The automatic registration campaigns build on iVote’s successful efforts last cycle to bring more attention to Secretary of State races as a vehicle to fight for voting rights.



iVote, a voting rights campaign dedicated to the powerful notion that every eligible citizen should vote, recently launched an offensive against orchestrated efforts to block people from voting. The iVote Board of Directors includes Doug Sosnik, Frank Smith, Ellen Kurz, Jeremy Bird, Michael Blake, Rachael Cobb, Ralph Paige, Wendy Smith, Pete Giangreco. iVote is being advised by 270 Strategies, AKPD, David Binder Research, and Greenberg Quinlan Rosner Research.

get updates

Paid for by iVote Fund, Ellen Kurz, President. Not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s campaign committee.

Contact Us

Visit iVoteCEF.org

© 2015 | iVote Fund