iVote Releases Focus Group Findings on Attitudes on Early Voting

Voters overwhelmingly support early vote, oppose efforts to restrict voting

WASHINGTON, DC – iVote today released findings from a recent series of focus groups demonstrating overwhelming support for early voting across demographic groups.

The focus groups, which were conducted by David Binder Research in the swing state of Ohio, showed that early voting is enormously popular and voters strongly oppose efforts to limit early voting days. Focus group respondents also responded strongly to the notion that every eligible American, whether they are a Democrat, Republican or Independent, should be able to vote.  

“These groups clearly show that officials who want to restrict or reduce access to voting are not just on the wrong side of the issue but on the wrong side of voters,” said David Binder.  “This research is clear that Secretaries of State who try to eliminate access to early voting could pay a price at the polls." 

The focus group findings come the same week as the release of a poll conducted by the Des Moines Register in Iowa, another state iVote is working in.  The DMR found that by a 71% to 25% spread, voters prefer officials focusing on ensuring "every eligible, registered voter is able to vote" rather than focusing on alleged fraud.  They also found that voters believed that instances of alleged fraud were overstated.  

“iVote was established to go on the offense and ensure every eligible voter is able to exercise their right to vote," said iVote President Ellen Kurz.  "This research confirms that voters want their election officials, including Secretaries of State, to work toward expanding access, not restricting it."   



iVote, a new voting rights campaign dedicated to the powerful notion that every eligible citizen should vote, recently launched an offensive against orchestrated efforts to block people from voting. iVote will target Secretary of State races in Colorado, Nevada, Iowa and Ohio, activating grassroots armies to elect Secretaries of State who will protect every American’s access to voting.

The iVote Board of Directors includes Doug Sosnik, Frank Smith, Ellen Kurz, Jeremy Bird, Michael Blake, Rachael Cobb, Ralph Paige, Wendy Smith and Pete Giangreco. iVote is being advised by 270 Strategies, AKPD, David Binder Research, and Greenberg Rosner Research.

Contact: press@ivoteforamerica.org



get updates

Paid for by iVote Fund, Ellen Kurz, President. Not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s campaign committee.

Contact Us

Visit iVoteCEF.org

© 2015 | iVote Fund