Drive for automatic voter registration

From Chicago Tribune

By Rick Pearson

The group iVote says the state lawmakers who pledged to back legislation that would make voter registration automatic for those who get a driver's license have now signed on as co-sponsors.

“We're overjoyed to see that a growing number of legislators who pledged their support through iVote for AVR are now becoming co-sponsors of the bill,” said iVote board member and co-founder Jeremy Bird. The legislation “would be a game-changer for Illinois, bringing more eligible voters, young and old, into our democracy,” Bird said.

The sponsors and co-sponsors of the House and Senate versions of the bills include state Sens. Andy Manar, D-Bunker Hill, Pat McGuire, D-Joliet, and Heather Steans and John Mulroe, both Chicago Democrats. House members who signed up include Chicago Democrats Reps. Sonya Harper, Sara Feigenholtz and Jaime Andrade and Swansea Democratic Rep. Jay Hoffman.

get updates

Paid for by iVote Fund, Ellen Kurz, President. Not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s campaign committee.

The registered trademark iVote, and related proprietary rights, are owned by Mark Rice.

Contact Us


© 2015 | iVote Fund